Bing enters Korean market with Daum

Occasionally I search for my blog and a few days ago I searched on bing and the url had daum in it. I had previously downloaded daum’s music player and it changed my homepage from naver to daum. So I thought at first it was spyware changing my searches to be daum ones and since my flash drive was infected with a virus and I had received a warning about a virus on my laptop, I scanned my computer for viruses but didn’t find any. Then I read that Microsoft is allied with Daum in Korea. When Bing first launched, they were the first ones to list my blog but now when I search for my blog, I can’t find it anymore. The same thing happened on yahoo; it took them weeks to find my blog and I incorrectly assumed that once they found it, they would continue indexing it but no, my blog has disappeared from yahoo as well. Also if you use yahoo mail and someone writes to you in another language such as Korean or Russian, the emails sometimes appear as broken characters, whereas Korean or Russian emails have always arrived in readable condition on Hotmail. Now google is the only one indexing my blog despite filling out the feedback form over ten times on Naver asking them to add my blog. I also sent feedback to Daum numerous time asking them to add my blog but it still haven’t been indexed. However, Yandex, Russia’s leading search engine http://www.yandex.ru has found my blog without my even asking. If you are searching in Russia in Russian, Yandex, is excellent and they even mention South Korea in their about page “Russia is one of the few countries with homegrown world-class internet technologies. Besides Russia, local search engines lead in the US, China, South Korea, and the Czech Republic” Even if you are searching in English for things in Russia, Yandex is much better than other search engines. For instance, I searched for Korean restaurants St Petersburg and on Yandex, it found several but on google Russia it listed restaurants in Florida, USA and in Moscow, Russia. However, if you know Korean, searching in Korean on Naver or Daum gives even better results.

It’s a bit puzzling to me why in South Korea anyone would use Bing even if it is allied with Daum when you can go directly to Daum’s website www.daum.net I think the photos on Bing’s US homepage are nice though so I sometimes go look at those photos and then go back to google for searching for English results or back to Naver or Daum for Korean searches or Yandex for Russia results. However, on the Bing Korea page, there isn’t a nice background photo. You can also go directly to Naver’s website http://www.naver.com

If you want to look at the Bing Korea website, it’s
http://bing.search.daum.net/search?q=bing

Etiquetas: ,

Responder

